1994/1995 Sherry Anderson Rink – Team

The Sherry Anderson rink was simply the best in Saskatchewan women’s curling ranks in 1994 and 1995.

The 1994 rink was comprised of skip Sherry Anderson, third Kay Montgomery, second Donna Gignac, lead Elaine McCloy, fifth Kathy Fahlman and their coach Ron Meyers. The 1995 rink remained intact with the exception that Twila Fisher was the fifth team member.

After two earlier appearances in the provincial championships, the Anderson rink entered the 1994 Scott Tournament of Hearts in Wadena with confidence that they had the experience to take the next step. That confidence proved well founded as the Anderson foursome became the first rink from outside Saskatoon or Regina to win the provincial title since 1981.

At the Scott Tournament of Hearts in Kitchener-Waterloo, the Anderson rink had a strong showing at its first national championship. After qualifying for the playoffs through a tiebreaker, the Anderson rink reached the semifinals before losing 5-3 to Connie Laliberte of Manitoba. Laliberte then fell to the defending champions, the Team Canada rink of Sandra Peterson of Regina.

A year later, Anderson scored a dramatic 7-5 victory over Michelle Schneider in Regina to successfully defend their provincial championship.

The Scott Tournament of Hearts was held in Calgary that year and one of the highlights for the Anderson rink came in a 4-2 preliminary round victory over Peterson. Unfortunately, a 6-5 record in the round-robin was not good enough to qualify for the playoff round.

In the pre-tournament skills competition, Montgomery captured the Hot Shots title and with it a new car.

The Prince Albert Sports Hall of Fame is pleased to induct the Sherry Anderson Rink in the team category.Inducted into the Prince Albert Sports Hall of Fame in 2001.