1978 Men’s Five-Pin Bowling – Team

A world championship is the best there is at any level of sport and the 1978 men’s five-pin bowling team from Prince Albert achieved that.

The six‑man team of Wayne Akers, Brian Falconer, Bill Miller, Doug Primeau, Manny Primeau and coach Murray Kyle has individual and team accomplishments which make it read like a ”Who’s Who” of five‑ pin bowling.  Besides winning the world championship at Thunder Bay, Ontario, in 1978, the highly experienced team won the Saskatchewan title three times ‑ 1978,1979 and 1981.

Five team members ‑ the Primeau brothers and Akers, Miller and Falconer – combined to set an all‑time Saskatchewan men’s single game record of 1,616 an average of 323 per bowler.

Such accomplishments are common to these bowlers who average more than 30 years of bowling activity.  Akers rolled 448 scores twice (450 is a perfect game).  Falconer bowled three-game totals of more than 1,000 seven times and Miller, during a span of 29 years reached the provincial championship 27 times.

Beyond competing, members of this team have contributed to the development of bowling by coaching Youth Bowling Council teams, including at the national championship level.

Inducted into the Prince Albert Sports Hall of Fame in 1990.